WHAT IS SLACKLINING?

What is slacklining?

Fun is the main focus when slacklining

Slacklining entails balancing on a 2.5 to 5 centimetre wide piece of webbing made from synthetic fibres, which is rigged between to fixed points (most commonly trees). Slacklining is an independent sport with many variations and disciplines, championships and professional athletes.

Slacklines are also used as a balance training aid in competitive sports, as fitness equipment or in physiotherapy. The activity also has creative aspects, with a tradition in performances and shows and as a tool for enriching public spaces. Furthermore, it is gaining a foothold in school sports, tourism and as a recreational activity in the public’s free time, which is partly due to slackline parks.

A slackline set basically consists of a piece of webbing (not a rope), two tree slings and a tensioning system – if the slackline is to be rigged between two trees, the set should also include tree protectors.

 

History

Bernhard Witz during the first send of the Eiger Mushroom

Humans have been balancing on all sorts of things throughout the centuries, mainly on hardly elastic cables, ropes or beams. Climbers also killed their time on rainy days and rest days, balancing on chain barriers in parking lots and the like. Slacklining emerged as an independent activity on stretchy webbing in the early 80ties from said leisure activity of the climbers in Yosemite National Park. Adam Grosowsky and Jeff Ellington were the first to come up with the idea of using their climbing gear to balance on and introduced slacklining to the climber’s camps in the valley. From there it slowly spread into other countries within the climbing scene, and eventually to Switzerland. However, the slackline trend really took off around 2006 in Europe with the introduction of simple slacklining sets in sports shops – We estimate that one in twenty people own a slackline in Switzerland.

How is it different from tightrope walking?

Philippe Petit at WTC (New York 1974, © Jim Moore)

The name “Slackline” says it all, the line is not under a lot of tension. In contrast to steel cables the synthetic webbing is able to stretch under the load of the slackliner on it and becomes dynamic., which makes it necessary to constantly compensate for the movement in the line and would also make it more complicated to walk with an inert balancing pole. While tightrope walking has a long circus tradition, slacklining is a rather young activity. In principle all the tricks shown by performers on the steel cable are also possible on the slackline. As a result of the elastic properties of the webbing, there are also a variety of dynamic tricks that can be pulled off on a slackline. Other differences are that slacklines can be rigged with very little effort and that this sport can easily be practiced barefoot.

Slacklining in Switzerland

Slackliners at the Bern City Slack Festival

Slackline sets became commercially available in Switzerland in 2006. The country has one of the highest concentrations of slackliners together with Austria, Germany and Brazil. Switzerland is home to nine slackline associations with a total of 350 members and dozens of additional Facebook and Whatsapp groups. The oldest association is Slack Attack (Bern, 2009), the youngest are the slackline associations in Vevey and Nyon (2016). All of these associations are part of Swiss Slackline, the Swiss slackline federation. Swiss Slackline, in turn, is a founding member of the International Slackline Association (ISA), which was also founded in Switzerland in 2015. Its vice president, Thomas Buckingham from central Switzerland, is the president of Swiss Slackline at the same time. Festivals such as the Bern City Slack, the Transalp Waterline Tour or the Moléson Highline Meeting have made Switzerland famous in the Slackline universe and attract more international athletes to Switzerland every year.

Swiss top athletes

Samuel Volery at the Transalp Waterline Tour

Even though Switzerland is only a small country with comparatively few active slackliners, it has already brought forth several world-famous athletes. Samuel Volery (Uster, born 1989) and Raphael Bacot (Lausanne, born 1989) repeatedly battle for world records in disciplines like highlining and longlining, while Leatizia Gonnon (Geneva, born 1991) leads the women’s world records in the same disciplines and trumps most male slackliners worldwide.

WAS IST SLACKLINEN?

Was ist Slacklinen?

Spass beim Slacklinen steht im Vordergrund

Unter Slacklinen versteht man das Balancieren auf einem 2,5 bis 5 Zentimeter breiten Kunstfaserband, das zwischen zwei Fixpunkte (meist Bäume) gespannt wird. Slacklinen ist eine eigenständige Sportart mit vielen Varianten und Disziplinen, Meisterschaften und professionelen Athleten.

Slacklines werden aber auch als Gleichgewichtstrainingsmittel im Spitzensport, als Fitnessgerät oder in der Physiotherapie eingesetzt. Die Slackline-Aktivität hat aber auch seine kreativen Seiten, mit einer Tradition in Vorstellungen und Shows und einer Bereicherung für öffentliche Plätze. Auch der Einzug in den Schulsport, den Tourismus sowie in Erholung und Freizeit, unter anderem aufgrund von Slackline-Parks, ist in vollem Gange.

Ein Slackline-Set besteht grundsätzlich aus einem Band (nicht Seil), zwei Baumschlingen und einem Spannsystem – falls die Slackline zwischen Bäumen gespannt wird, kommen zusätzlich Baumschützer hinzu.

Geschichte

Bernhard Witz bei der Erstbegehung des Eiger Pilz

Balanciert sind die Menschen durch die Jahrhunderte hindurch auf allem Möglichen, vor allem auf wenig elastischen Kabeln, Seilen oder Balken. Auch Kletterer vertrieben sich öfter die Zeit an Ruhe- und Regentagen damit, auf Absperrketten und -tauen zu balancieren. Als eigenständige Aktivität entstand das Slacklinen auf dehnbaren Bändern Anfang der 80er Jahre aus ebendieser Freizeitbeschäftigung der Kletterer im Yosemite-Nationalpark. Adam Grosowsky und Jeff Ellington waren die ersten, die auf die Idee kamen, ihr Klettermaterial dafür zu benutzen und so das Slacklinen in die Camps der Kletterer im Valley brachten. Von dort aus verbreitete es sich langsam über die Kletterszene in andere Länder, so auch in die Schweiz. Richtig los ging der Slackline-Trend aber 2006 in Europa mit der Einführung von einfachen Slackline Sets im Sportfachhandel - wir schätzen, dass heute jeder zwanzigste Schweizer eine Slackline besitzt.

Was ist der Unterschied zum Seiltanz?

Philippe Petit at WTC (New York 1974, © Jim Moore)

Wörtlich übersetzt bedeutet der Begriff Slackline "lockeres Band". Im Gegensatz zum Stahlseil dehnt sich das Kunstfasergewebe unter der Last des Slackliners und wird dadurch dynamisch, was ein ständiges aktives Ausgleichen der Schwingungen nötig macht und auch das Laufen mit einer Stange verkompliziert. Während das Seiltanzen im Zirkus eine lange Tradition hat, ist das Slacklinen eine eher junge Aktivität. Grundsätzlich sind sämtliche Tricks, die Artisten auf dem Stahlseil zeigen, auch auf der Slackline möglich. Dank des elastischen Materials können aber viele dynamische Tricks darauf ausgeführt werden. Weitere Unterschiede sind, dass man die Slackline schon mit geringem Aufwand spannen kann, und dass man diese Sportart problemlos auch barfuss ausführen kann.

Slacklinen in der Schweiz

Slackliner beim Bern City Slack Festival

Ab 2006 wurden in der Schweiz Slackline-Sets zum Verkauf angeboten. Zusammen mit Österreich, Deutschland und Brasilien findet sich hier eine der grössten Dichten an Slacklinerinnen und Slacklinern. Die Schweiz verfügt heute über neun Slackline-Vereine mit gesamthaft 350 Slackline-Vereinsmitgliedern plus dutzenden Facebook- und WhatsApp-Gruppen. Der älteste Verein ist Slack Attack (Bern, 2009), die jüngsten sind die Slackline Vereine Vevey und Nyon (2016). Sie alle sind unter dem Dach von Swiss Slackline, dem Schweizer Slackline-Verband, zusammengeschlossen. Swiss Slackline ist wiederum Gründungsmitglied der International Slackline Association (ISA), welche 2015 ebenfalls in der Schweiz gegründet wurde. Deren Vizepräsident, der Innerschweizer Thomas Buckingham, ist gleichzeitig der Präsident von Swiss Slackline. Festivals wie das Bern City Slack, die Transalp Waterline Tour oder das Moléson Highline Meeting haben die Schweiz in der Slacklinewelt berühmt gemacht und locken immer mehr internationale Athletinnen und Athleten ins Land.

Schweizer Spitzenathleten

Samuel Volery an der Transalp Waterline Tour

Obwohl die Schweiz nur ein kleines Land mit vergleichsweise wenig aktiven Slacklinerinnen und Slacklinern ist, hat sie bereits mehrere weltbekannte Athleten hervorgebracht. So erkämpft sich Samuel Volery (Uster, Jahrgang 1984) und Raphael Bacot (Lausanne, Jahrgang 1989) immer wieder die Weltspitze in Disziplinen wie Highline oder Longline, während Laetizia Gonnon (Genf, Jahrgang 1991) in denselben Disziplinen die Weltrangliste der Frauen anführt und auch die meisten männlichen Slackliner der Welt hinter sich lässt.