VARIATIONS & DISCIPLINES

Novice slacklines

Every novice starts out with a short, 2.5 to 5 centimetre wide slackline. These are rigged between to anchorpoints, mostly trees. There is no special sense of balance needed to slackline, everyone can learn it! The first steps seem impossible, however, with the right tips one advances fast.

Longline

Hugo Minnig on a 190m longline.

Starting from a length of around 30 metres slacklines are classified as longlines. The longer the lines, the more difficult it becomes to walk, in particular because the ability to concentrate is under constant stress. To exemplify: The world record in longlining is at over 600 meters in length – hence more than half a kilometre on a narrow synthetic piece of webbing. Please take note: During the last few years one record has been chasing the next. All current Swiss records are listed here.

Highline

Benj Herren walking into the sunset

Highlining is the supreme discipline of slacklining. Highlines are rigged at great heights, between rocks or even peaks for example. In highlining it is not only balance that matters. Even people free of vertigo fight their instincts here. To protect themselves against life-threatening falls, highliners double up the webbing with a second system (rope or another webbing – principle of redundancy) and attach themselves to those two systems with a harness, safety rope (leash) and a ring that goes around both systems. One has to imagine: The highline world record is at almost 500 metres – at staggering heights.

Trickline/Jumpline

The Swiss champion Robin Jacquat

Tricklines/Jumplines are between 15 and thirty metres long and very taut. This gives the webbing characteristics similar to a trampoline. It is possible to jump from feet to chest, to butt, to back and back to feet for example, in all fathomable combinations including flips and spins. The national Swiss trickline/jumpline championships have been taking place for several years which is only one of many contests worldwide.

Waterline

Laetitia Gonnon above the Lake of Geneva

A slackline that goes over a body of water is called a waterline. These are especially tempting in summer. It is important that the water is deep enough all the way along the line, so that a fall cannot occur into shallow water. Walking on a waterline is significantly more difficult than on a normal slackline, as water moves and confuses the eye. To compare: The waterline world record is at around 350 metres.

Rodeoline

Daniela Schmidt on a rodeoline

The rodeoline is anchored higher (starting at around two to three metres) and just hung there so that is sags almost all the way to the ground. These lines are walked differently, as it is not possible to walk from one end to the other. People tend to stay in the middle of the webbing, swing from side to side and practice acrobatics. They are very suitable for training and shows.

Speedline

Aron Andrijanic, Swiss speedline vice champion

Speedlining, walking a slackline as fast as possible, is a secondary discipline, yet very spectacular. Occasional contests have been taking place for a few years, from 2016 on a new Swiss championship in speedlining is going to take place.

VARIANTEN & DISZIPLINEN

Einsteiger Slacklines

Jede/r Einsteiger/in beginnt mit einer kurzen, 2,5 bis 5 Zentimeter breiten Slackline. Diese wird zwischen zwei Fixpunkte, meist Bäume, gespannt. Man braucht kein gutes Gleichgewicht zum Slacklinen, alle können es lernen! Die ersten Schritte scheinen unmöglich, mit den richtigen Tipps kommt man aber schnell voran.

Longline

Hugo Minnig läuft auf einer 190m Longline

Ab einer Länge von etwa 30 Metern spricht man von einer Longline. Je länger die Line, desto anspruchsvoller ist das Gehen, besonders auch, weil die Konzentrationsfähigkeit unter Dauerbelastung steht. Zur Verdeutlichung: Der Weltrekord im Longlinen liegt bei über 600 Metern – also weit über einem halben Kilometer auf einem dünnen Kunstfaserband. Bitte beachten Sie: In den letzten Jahren jagte ein Rekord den nächsten. Alle aktuellen Schweizerrekorde sind hier aufgelistet.

Highline

Benj Herren im Sonnenuntergang

Highlinen ist die Königsdisziplin des Slacklinens. Highlines sind in grosser Höhe, beispielsweise zwischen Felsen oder gar Berggipfeln angebracht. Hier ist nicht nur das Gleichgewicht von Bedeutung. Auch schwindelfreie Menschen kämpfen hier gegen ihre Instinkte an. Um sich gegen lebensgefährliche Stürze zu sichern, verdoppeln die Highliner das Band durch ein zweites System (Seil oder zweites Band - Redundanzprinzip) und befestigen sich selbst mittels Klettergurt und Sicherheitsseil (Leash) an einem Ring, der an beiden Systemen hängt. Man muss sich vorstellen: Der Highline-Weltrekord liegt bei knapp 500 Metern – und das in schwindelerregender Höhe.

Trickline/Jumpline

Der Schweizer Meister Robin Jacquat

Bei der Trickline/Jumpline wird eine zwischen 15 und 30 Meter lange Slackline straff gespannt. So erhält das Band trampolin-ähnliche Eigenschaften. Darauf springt man beispielsweise von den Füssen auf den Bauch, den Hintern, den Rücken und wieder zurück, und das in allen denkbaren Kombinationen und inklusive Salti und Schrauben. Seit mehreren Jahren gibt es die nationale Schweizermeisterschaft im Tricklinen/Jumplinen und Wettbewerbe auf der ganzen Welt.

Waterline

Laetitia Gonnon über dem Genfersee

Eine Slackline über Wasser bezeichnet man als Waterline. Dies ist besonders im Sommer sehr reizvoll. Wichtig ist, dass das Wasser überall tief genug ist, damit bei einem Fall kein Aufprallrisiko besteht. Das Gehen auf einer Waterline ist deutlich schwieriger als auf einer normalen Slackline, da das Wasser immer in Bewegung ist und die optischen Sinne dadurch verwirrt. Zum Vergleich: Der Weltrekord im Waterlinen liegt bei rund 350 Metern.

Rodeoline

Daniela Schmidt auf der Rodeoline

Die Rodeoline wird etwas höher befestigt (ab etwa zwei bis drei Metern) und so lose aufgehängt, dass sie fast bis zum Boden durchhängt. Solche Lines werden anders begangen, man läuft nicht von einem Ende zum andern, sondern bleibt eher in der Mitte des Bandes, schwingt hin und her und kann auch Akrobatik darauf machen. Sie eignen sich hervorragend zum Training und für Shows.

Speedline

Aron Andrijanic, Vize-Schweizer Meister im Speedlinen

Das Speedlinen, also die Begehung einer Slackline auf Zeit, ist eine eher untergeordnete, aber äusserst spektakuläre Disziplin. Seit mehreren Jahren finden vereinzelte Wettbewerbe statt, ab 2016 wird neu eine Schweizermeisterschaft im Speedlinen ausgeführt.